Administrators can also remove selected revisions from a page history, for example if they contain defamatory text. For details, see [[Wikipedia:Selective deletion|Selective deletion]].
An "image" (in the broad sense of an uploaded file) can be edited, or, more generally, be replaced by a different image, by uploading a new image file with the same name. Again all versions are kept. The image history listing forms part of the [[Help:Image description page|image description page]], which appears when clicking on the image. The image history consists of this and the old versions themselves.
Images which have been deleted from their source are not available (not to be confused with images removed from an article but not from their source), the only record available is the upload log, deletion log and possibly the "votes for deletion" archive. Neither the latest nor older versions are kept by the system, hence it is not possible to restore a deleted image without uploading it again.
==Linking to a specific version of a page==<!-- this section is linked to from [[WP:Permalink]] -->